Why choosing a blog name is such a tricky thing? I’ve got an answer to that

blake-lively-gossip-girl-gif

You know the feeling when you really want to do something and you start doing it but then everything suddenly stops because of one, seemingly, small thingt hat prevents you from moving one step further?

When I first decided on making a blog, I had been told that WordPress was a good choice for hosting and I had a somewhat clear vision on what the layout was going to look like;

However, when it came to the most important part, which is adding a name to it,  I couldn’t help but feel like I was hit in the head by a ton of bricks.

I honestly don’t know what I was hoping for – a sudden rush of inspiration? A motherly advice? – but I knew for sure that I was stuck in the “sign up” page because of this stupid little thing.

While I knew that it’s not just the name but the content that really matters, I still wanted a domain that would somehow stick out or make an impact on the society in one way or another.

So, I turned to Google for help, only to find out that none of those advices really applied in my case. Why so? Let’s find out.

I’ve compiled together all the most common advices that I’ve read in terms of naming your blog, so let’s take a look – are they really that effective for everybody?

1. Define your niche.

But what if I don’t have a niche that I want to be in or can relate myself to?

For example, my blog is about a lot of things and that is 100% how I want it to be. From movie reviews to fashion, to discussing serious topics, I can’t characterize it to be just a fashion blog or one that’s all about politics and society.

I guess it is way easier for people who know what they’re good at and can build their brand from here, but for people like me who are good at a lot of things (or nothing at all), it’s really a major struggle.

2. Find a word/phrase/saying that you can relate to and utilize the shit out of it

The words or phrases we come up with  usually are what we love saying day-to-day or what people tend to call us or what ultimately defines us, am I right?

However the chances are, those names have been taken already a long time ago. And even if you find a witty site title that hasn’t been worn off already or isn’t the 1st result on Google, it’s probably because someone has already created a site with that exact name but hasn’t used it since signing up (that has happened to me more than once actually).

Because everyone can be funny, witty, quirky, chatty and fabulous and as it turns out, you’re not the only person who has ever thought to use these characteristics in their blog name.

3. Put two random words together and see what happens

Oh, I love this one.

From “cashmere and marshmallows” to “whores on crutches”, it’s more like a test of how deep can you dig into your own brain.

I, for one, thought of quite a few names like that but then again, it comes to nr. 3 – they were all either taken or too worn  off to even be used. Shucks though, because I would really have wanted to use that 2nd one. (No irony there, I really liked that phrase)

4. Thesaurus is your holy savior

So, various sites suggest to turn to thesaurus.com for help but unless you know exactly what type of words you want to or are going to use in your blog name (so you could look up their sinonyms), this site will be of no use to you.

Same goes with urban dictionary because there’s just so much these pages can do if you don’t even know where to start or what to look up.

5. Be creative

If I was all that creative, we wouldn’t be sitting here and discussing this, would we? Google?

So, the things that I have learned from all this? To go with your gut,  no matter what.

Yes,  the word that you took from the 1st page of your favourite book doesn’t make a lot of sense but then again, so doesn’t  the majority of blog names that people use.

And besides, having a weird blog title  doesn’t  necessarily mean that the actual blog isn’t enjoyable.

If anything, having an extraordinary and sometimes unrelated name that kind of sticks out, can help you quite a lot to build your audience.

Quirkiness often times is what draws people in and 9 times out of 10, a unique person is what people want to see.

What about you? What are YOUR tips and tricks on finding the perfect domain name?

Sound off in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

